Upgrade Bonanza: Bob Dylan & Tom Petty – Tacoma, WA (07/31/86)

bob dylan - 1986_07_31

Bob Dylan & Tom Petty
Raw Soundboard
Tacoma Dome, Tacoma, WA
July 31, 1986

Download: FLAC/MP3

Lineage:Soundboard Recording> Maxell XLII-90 acquired in trade> NAK BX-125> M-Audio 24/96> Adobe Audition> WAV> Flacfrontend> Flac 6> YOU

01 Intro
02 So Long Good Luck And Goodbye
03 All Along The Watchtower
04 Clean-Cut Kid
05 I’ll Remember You
06 Shot Of Love
07 We Had It All
08 Masters Of War
09 Straight Into Darkness
10 Think About Me
11 The Waiting (partial)
12 Breakdown
13 It Ain’t Me Babe
14 One Too Many Mornings
15 Mr. Tambourine Man
16 I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know
17 Band Of The Hand
18 When The Night Comes Falling
19 Lonesome Town
20 Ballad Of A Thin Man (inc)
21 Listen To Her Heart
22 Spike
23 Tonight Will Be My Night
24 Refugee
25 Rainy Day Women 12 & 35
26 Seeing The Real You At Last
27 Across The Borderline
28 Band Introduction
29 Like A Rolling Stone
30 In The Garden
31 Blowin’ In The Wind
32 Bye Bye Johnny
33 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (inc)
34 Gotta Serve Somebody
35 I And I

The Band:
Bob Dylan: Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
Tom Petty=Vocals, Guitar
Benmont Tench-Keyboards
Mike Campbell-Guitar
Howie Epstein-Bass
Stan Lynch-Drums
Backing Vocals-Louise Bethune, Carolyn Dennis, Madelyn Quebec and Queen Esther Marrow.

Ripped by Atlasstar 1-2016

From the original uploader:
This is an interesting recording from a raw soundboard tape. Now before you get too excited this does have some issues. This is un-mixed direct from the board and with barely a trace of audience. You might say ‘who wants to hear the audience’. Believe it or not they are noticeably absent. Which leaves long gaps of silence between songs. And being un-mixed the vocals are sometimes buried as well as some instruments at times. But aside from those issues it is a clean, low generation recording.
I have found that this source was released on a three CD set back in 2008 on Scorpio (http://www.bobsboots.com/CDs/cd-l20.html). I don’t have a copy of that set but it’s quite apparent that this tape is more complete. The partial “The Waiting”, “Gotta Serve Somebody” and “I And I” are missing from the CD set. Although some notes I found on-line indicate that “GSS” and “I&I” should be after “Across The Borderline”, here they are the last two tracks. Also “Ballad of a Thin Man” and “Knockin on Heavens Door” end abruptly on the tape, there is no mention of the CD being the same. Perhaps they are complete on the CD or just faded out to hide the ending.

Anyway, here is a trip back thirty years to a great tour. Enjoy!

This is part of the Atlasstar Attic Treasures Series. My attic consists of thousands of cassettes collected since the 70’s. I will post them in no particular order as I pull them out of the attic and convert to digital. Some of these artists I know well and collect myself, other I know little about just picked up along the way. I will provide as much info as I can but if anyone can add any insight to the recordings it would be appreciated. If the same recording is circulating in better quality please let me know as I have no intention of polluting the trading pool.

All recordings are kept as original as possible with minimal processing. Unless noted otherwise the only adjustments made are Automatic Phase Correction, Level adjustments and cleaning of any rough or abrupt cuts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s