Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Tokyo, Japan (02/23/78)

Bbo Dylan Japan Tour 1978_0220b
Bob Dylan
23 Feb 78
Tokyo, Japan
Budokan Hall

Download: FLAC/MP3

LB 7292

I previously posted LB 1238 here.

1 Hard Rain (instrumental)
2 Lonesome in my Bedroom
3 Mr Tambourine Man,
4 I Threw It All Away,
5 Love Minus Zero/No Limit,
6 If You see her say Hello
7 Ballad of a Thin Man
8 I Don’t Believe You
9 Maggie’s Farm,
10 Girl from The North Country
11 Don’t Think Twice. its alright
12 To Ramona
13 Like A Rolling Stone,
14 I Shall Be Released,
15 Going, Going, Gone,

1 Sooner Or Later,
2 Blowin’ In The Wind,
3 Just Like A Woman,
4 Oh Sister,
5 You’re A Big Girl Now,
6 All Along The Watchtower,
7 Simple Twist of Fate
8 All I really wanna do
9 I Want You
10 The Man in Me
11 Tomorrow Is A Long Time,
12 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door,
13 (band intro)
14 It’s Alright Ma, I’m Only Bleeding,
15 Forever Young,
16 The Times They Are A-Changin’


Thank you. This is a song I wrote for a friend of mine a few years back. (before To Ramona)

Thank you. Very nice to be here in this country. (before Oh Sister)

Thank you. We’re getting to learn that one. I wanna introduce you to some of the people up here. I bet you’ve been wondering who they are. Playing the horns tonight we have Steve Douglas. On the violin and the mandolin David Mansfield. These three young ladies at the back, on the left, far left is Helena Springs. In the middle is my ex-wife Jo Ann Harris. Debbie Franklin, on the left. On rhythm guitar we have Steve Soles tonight. On the bass guitar Rob Stoner. On the drums Ian Wallace from Great Britain. Lead guitar Billy Cross. On the organ Alan Pasqua, on the conga drums Bobbye Hall. (before It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding))

We’re gonna leave you with this tune. It’s been a pleasure singing here. Thank you very much. We’re gonna be leaving town in about three days, but we’ll be back, and we’ll see you then. (before Forever Young)

From the original uploader:
Here’s some more Bob “Budokan” Dylan.

Files as I received them.

Thanks to all those who made this possible.

I couldn’t find any recordings of this show so I mastered this one from my cassettes.
I expect that this is the same recording as LB-1238

4 thoughts on “Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Tokyo, Japan (02/23/78)

  1. Strange that in all my years of trading and sharing Bob in different formats, it is only in the last few years that i have been able to fill or to upgrade some of these early 78 tapes with decent lossless sources.

    Thanks for these Mat, good work!

    1. It is amazing to me how this sort of thing happens. I guess some people just hoard stuff or only trade among secret groups to prove how cool they are. This music deserves to be spread far and wide as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s