New Source Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Los Angeles, CA (06/02/78)


Bob Dylan
Los Angeles, CA

Download: FLAC/MP3

Source 2 is new.

01 – A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall (instrumental)
02 – Love Her With A Feeling
03 – Baby Stop Crying
04 – Mr. Tambourine Man
05 – Shelter From The Storm
06 – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
07 – Tangled Up In Blue
08 – Ballad Of A Thin Man
09 – Maggie’s Farm
10 – I Don’t Believe You
11 – Like A Rolling Stone
12 – I Shall Be Released
13 – Going, Going, Gone

14 – Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35 (instrumental)
15 – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
16 – You’re A Big Girl Now
17 – One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
18 – Blowin’ In The Wind
19 – I Want You
20 – SeÒor (Tales Of Yankee Power)
21 – Masters Of War
22 – Just Like A Woman
23 – To Ramona
24 – All Along The Watchtower
25 – All I Really Want To Do
26 – It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
27 – Forever Young


28 – The Times They Are A-Changin’

Second concert of the 1978 Los Angeles residency. 1978 concert # 25.
Second concert with the 1978 World Tour Band:
Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar),
Billy Cross (lead guitar),
Alan Pasqua (keyboards),
Steven Soles (rhythm guitar, backup vocals),
David Mansfield (violin & mandolin),
Steve Douglas (horns),
Jerry Scheff (bass),
Bobbye Hall (percussion),
Ian Wallace (drums),
background vocals:
Helena Springs,
Jo Ann Harris,
Carolyn Dennis.

1, 14 instrumental without Bob Dylan.
6, 22 Bob Dylan (harmonica).

– Thank you. Thank you very much. this is a song off our new Columbia Records
album, Street-Legal. Soon to be released. (before Baby, Stop Crying)
– Thank you. This songís the story of my life. (before Tangled Up In Blue)
– Thank you all right. All right thank you. Thank you very much.
This is a song I recorded with The Band while we were hanging around
up in Woodstock. (before I Shall Be Released)
– Thank you. We’ll play another song and take a break now, eat something.
This is another song that I recorded with The Band a few years back.
(before Going, Going, Gone)
– Thank you. This is another song from the forthcoming album, ha ha,
Street-Legal. Remember that! This oneís called Tales Of Yankee Power.
– Thank you it’s nice to be here. Joni Mitchell’s here tonight.
Stand up and take a bow Joni! Where is she? On the drums tonight
Ian Wallace. Ian’s from Kingston, Jamaica.
And on the bass guitar, Jerry Scheff. Lead guitar, Billy Cross.
Play something! On the organ and piano, Alan Pasqua. On the tenor
saxophone, a man with many talents, Steve Douglas.
All right, on the rhythm guitar and back ground vocals, from Alasta Coley,
Oklahoma, his number is 6534 219, he’s the only one of us that’s available,
Mr. Steven Soles. On the mandolin, David Mansfield.
The real baby prodigy. On background vocals, on the left, Carolyn Dennis.
In the middle, Helena Springs. My true love on the right, Jo Ann Harris.
On the conga drums, Bobbye Hall.
This is a song I wrote a few years back, called It’s Alright Ma,
I’m Only Bleeding.
– This is a song I first recorded with The Band a few years back.
We’re gonna play this one. We gotta get outta here and beat the traffic.
Have a safe trip home now. (before Forever Young)

– Sooner Or Later. Stortebeker RS 1019.
– Stop Crying. Red Sky 1019.

2 new songs (7%) compared to previous concert. 2 new songs for this tour.

Source 1: LB-07466

Stereo audience recording, 130 minutes.
72min+56min ; 2CDR ; Rating: B

from lk 78 set;
aud master, very good sound;
a little hiss, a little shakey sound a few spots on d1t1

bittorrent download 04/09; this has flac fingerprints which match LB-0214 shn md5 hash;
(did not listen to all of this)

Source 2: LB-6092

unknown AUD [presumably low generation] > ? > CD > EAC > Soundforge 6.0 > FLAC

I did not harm the sound of the recordings in any way. My CD copy received in a trade has d1t10, but it is not in ANY listing I’ve seen !
Soundquality of the track compared to the rest of the show makes it likely that it is in fact from this show, but of course there still remains some doubt …
d1t08 cuts @ 0:58, about 30 seconds missing. d1t01 and d2t07 slightly incomplete at start. d2t03 4’06” to d2t04 0’04” patched from old cassette of same master.
all other flaws on both versions and also on LB-4164

One thought on “New Source Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Los Angeles, CA (06/02/78)

  1. Mat, for ref new ‘source 2’ here actually opens as the old vinyl life sentence boot

    1978-06-02,07 – Los Angeles, CA – LS – Vinyl – Life Sentence – JTT – LB-9499 – FLAC

    Happy to receive and compare to my existing transfer. This one is prob a decent ‘needle drop’ as done on a Technics SL1200 MK 11, which is a v decent rig. Doesn’t appear however to match the notes on the post

    source 1 seems to match (LB-07466 )

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s