Bob Dylan – New York, NY (09/30/78)

Bob Dylan
Madison Square Garden
New York City, New York
September 30, 1978

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

I have three sources for this show, you can read the info here.

01 – My Back Pages (instrumental)
02 – I’m Ready
03 – Is Your Love In Vain?
04 – Shelter From The Storm
05 – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
06 – Tangled Up In Blue
07 – Ballad Of A Thin Man
08 – Maggie’s Farm
09 – I Don’t Believe You
10 – Like A Rolling Stone
11 – I Shall Be Released
12 – Going, Going, Gone

13 – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
14 – It Ain’t Me, Babe (acoustic)
15 – Am I Your Stepchild?
16 – One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
17 – Blowin’ In The Wind
18 – I Want You
19 – SeÒor (Tales Of Yankee Power)
20 – Masters Of War
21 – Just Like A Woman
22 – Baby Stop Crying
23 – All Along The Watchtower
24 – All I Really Want To Do
25 – It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
26 – Forever Young


27 – Changing Of The Guards

Concert # 12 of the 1978 US Fall Tour. 1978 concert # 61.
Concert # 38 with the 1978 World Tour Band:
Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar),
Billy Cross (lead guitar),
Alan Pasqua (keyboards),
Steven Soles (rhythm guitar, backup vocals),
David Mansfield (violin & mandolin),
Steve Douglas (horns),
Jerry Scheff (bass),
Bobbye Hall (percussion),
Ian Wallace (drums),
Helena Springs, Jo Ann Harris, Carolyn Dennis (background vocals)

1 instrumental without Bob Dylan.
5, 15, 22 Bob Dylan (harmonica).
14 Bob Dylan solo (vocal, harmonica & guitar).


  • Thank you. This is a song I wrote called Am I Your Stepchild ?
  • Thank you. You’ve been a wonderful crowd. I wanna introduce the band to you.
    On the drums tonight, give him a warm hand, Ian Wallace.
    On the bass guitar. Jerry Scheff.
    On the keyboards tonight, from Elizabeth, New Jersey, Mr. Alan Pasqua.
    On the lead electric guitar, dangerous Billy Cross.
    On the rhythm guitar, from Tombstone, Arizona, Mr. Steve Soles.
    On the violin and the mandolin and sometimes electric guitar, the youngest member of
    the group. He doesn’t smoke dope or go out with women or drink whiskey.
    That’s why he’s so good. Mr. David Mansfield! We’ll keep him that way.
    On the tenor saxophone, Steve Douglas.
    On the backup vocals, three ladies, on the right, Jo Ann Harris.
    On the middle, Helena Springs. And on the end, Carolyn Dennis.
    On the conga drums Miss Bobbye Hall from Detroit.
    All right, I’m Bob Dylan and this song is called It’s Alright Ma, I’m Only Bleeding.
  • All right. We’ve reached that point in time when we gotta go.
    Hope we played something right tonight. All right, so, see you next time.
    This is a song I recorded with The Band once on an album called Planet Waves.
    We’ll leave you with this one. Goodnight and be safe. (before Forever Young)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s