Jerry Garcia Band – Goleta, CA (02/05/77)

Jerry Garcia Band
Campbell Hall – UCSB
Goleta, CA

Download FLAC: Google Drive

This is flac encoded & tagged version of shnid: 24757Source: MSR>?>Cx>CDR>WAV>SHN.

Disc 1 – Early Show
01 Sugaree [10:07]
02 Catfish John [10:20]
03 Mystery Train [08:54]
04 Simple Twist Of Fate [10:22]
05 Stir It Up [12:23]
06 That’s What Love Will Make You Do [09:29]
Total time: 61:37

Disc 2 – Early Show (cont’d)
01 Don’t Let Go [25:28]
02 How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You [09:19]
Late Show
03 I’ll Take A Melody [16:00]
04 They Love Each Other [07:06]
05 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door [15:23]
Total time: 73:17

Disc 3 – Late Show (cont’d)
01 The Way You Do The Things You Do [07:32]
02 The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down [10:02]
03 Midnight Moonlight [09:29]
04 Tore Up Over You [09:21]
05 Tangled Up In Blue [09:56]
06 My Sisters And Brothers [05:38]
Total time: 51:59

Jerry Garcia Band: Jerry Garcia, Keith & Donna Godchaux, John Kahn, Ron Tutt.

Comments: This is a pretty decent upgrade over the previously circulating SHN set of this performance. This source features a slightly different setlist than the previous source and is congruent with listing the early show being closed by “How Sweet It Is”. If you are expecting pristine quality you will be disappointed. The recording is blemished by age, but as is always the case, Jerry fans (Pure or otherwise) smile through the warble.

The majority of the source is from CDRs provided by Jim Powell and Steve Fukawa. The last three tracks from the late show are from the previously circulating SHN source ( which in retrospect has some frequency augmentation (bass increased/distorted), NR applied, and is 0.6 semitones flat/slow.

All editing was done using Soundforge 6. I was able to “tune” the recording thanks to a couple of tuning breaks. The primary source was minimally flat ~0.10 semitones (corresponding to a pitch transposition of 1.0057 – small but definitely noticeable). Cut in Don’t Let Go at 23:10 required application of a splice source from S.Fukawa for the remainder of DLG which was flat by 0.6 semitones. Also there was some variability in the recording level at various points in times with the original sources levels which I attempted to smooth out by applying small increases in recording levels using vocal levels as a reference. The final 3 songs were flat by 0.6 semitones as well and corrected.

Some dude is yelling throughout the first set during the quiet parts (especially during Simple Twist of Fate) he comes across the stage microphones. You can hear other audience members distantly cajoling him to “SHUTUP!”. Likewise some future soccer grandma loses her psychic cookies periodically with some screaming, also to the chorus of “SHUTUP!”.