Neil Young – Chicago, IL (01/10/73)

Neil Young & The Stray Gators
January 10, 1973
Arie Crown Theater
Chicago, IL
Harvest/Time Fades Away Tour

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

Setlist: Disc One (54:47)
1. On the Way Home
2. Tell Me Why
3. LA
4. Journey Through the Past
5. A Man Needs A Maid
6. I Am A Child
7. Sugar Mountain
8. Borrowed Tune
9. Out on the Weekend
10. Harvest & band intros
11. Old Man

Disc Two (55:51)
12. Heart of Gold
13. Come Along and Say You Will
14. Everybody Knows This is Nowhere
15. Time Fades Away
16. New Mama
17. Alabama
18. Don’t Be Denied
19. Last Dance
20. Cinnamon Girl
21. Lookout Joe
22. Are You Ready For The Country

Never sell this! Please actively support Neil Young by purchasing all of his official releases.

Master Tape

Master tape>cd-r>cd-r>Bias Peak Pro 5>XACT>flac

The Stray Gators: Ben Keith-pedal steel, Tim Drummond-bass, Kenny Buttrey-drums, Jack Nitzsche-piano.

Here is the master tape of the Chicago gig from early in Neil Young’s “Harvest/Time Fades Away” American Tour of 1973. This three-month odyssey started on January 5, 1973 in Milwaukee. The setlist here is noticeably different than the recently posted Seattle March 17, 1973 show and features a number of songs that were dropped later in the tour. As such, this Chicago concert provides a nice contrast to Seattle. “LA” is performed here on acoustic guitar, rather than the electric version featured in the Seattle show. In addition, Kenny Buttrey also adds a distinctive difference on the drum parts. I rate this show VG+ in sound quality. Like Seattle, I think it’s another of the better-sounding shows from this tour. None of these Chicago tracks appear on the “Time Fades Away” album. Song samples provided. Enjoy.

One thought on “Neil Young – Chicago, IL (01/10/73)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s