Miles Davis – Boston, MA (02/xx/55)

Hi-Hat All-Stars with Miles Davis
Hi-Hat Club, Boston MA
Audience Recording
February 1955

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

Goody Pitch-Corrected Remaster

Audience Recording > ?? > wav > silver CD > unknown ripping software > wave > cd > EAC > wav > flac >

dBpoweramp (WAV) > Cool Edit Pro (Corrected DC Offset; Pitch Bender various amounts) > Trader’s Little Helper (FLAC Level 8, .ffp)

Miles Davis (tpt); Jay Migliori (ts); Al Walcott (p); Bob Freeman (p); Jimmy Woode (b); Jimmy Zitano (d)

01 A Night in Tunisia//
02 Dig
03 Darn That Dream
04 Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid
05 Ray’s Idea
06 Nice Work if You Can Get It
07 Wee Dot//
08 //Tune Up
09 Alone Together
10 Well, You Needn’t
11 Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid

  • t01 and t07 fade out while Miles is still playing
  • This source is a little brighter and less muddy on a few of the tracks.
  • Thanks to Peter Losin for the source!!

Corrected DC offset of each channel of all tracks separately.
Pitch of tracks 01-04 was approx. 122 cents sharp (1.22 Semitones.)
Pitch of tracks 05-11 was approx. 109 cents sharp (1.09 Semitones.)

Some fluctuations in speed/pitch may still be evident. The piano’s out of tune, while the other players are naturally a bit ‘flexible’ as well…

This is a great opportunity to hear some of Miles’ best live playing with some different, excellent players. Thanks so much to the archivists who provide the sources for these rarities. As you can see, this one’s been circulating for quite a while in quite a super-fast/sharp state. I couldn’t let things continue in that fashion (although all previous versions can’t be recalled with this replacement, unfortunately.) Hope y’all enjoy it at a much more appropriate speed and pitch with this new edition, and please share this one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s