Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Jerry Garcia Band – Amherst, MA (12/07/83)

Jerry Garcia Band
Gymnasium, Amherst College
Amherst, MA
This is a flac encoded & tagged version of shnid: 16869

Download: FLAC/MP3

Source: AUD(mics unknown) MAC>PCM>DAT>CD

Disc 1 – Set 1
01 How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) [08:02]
02 They Love Each Other [07:20]
03 I’ll Take A Melody [13:33]
04 Run For The Roses [05:10]
05 Mississippi Moon [08:39]
06 Tangled Up In Blue [12:09]
Total time: 54:55

Disc 2 – Set 2
01 Rhapsody In Red [08:59]
02 Simple Twist Of Fate [13:43]
03 Love In The Afternoon [07:29]
04 Cats Under The Stars [08:23]
05 Midnight Moonlight [07:09]
Total time: 45:44

Comments from the original uploader: Overall, a very good recording with an especially powerful performance of Mississippi Moon.Tape paused between tracks with occasional clipping of the first note. This is a complete recording and separate from the previous seed of the first set where the taper gets busted during intermission.

There was some variability in the recording levels of several individual tracks. I applied between 1.5 and 2.5 dB gains to several tracks to achieve a more stable balanced level using soundforge 5.

Thanks to D. Minches for the CDR sources.

DAE(EAC0.9 beta 4, secure mode, offset corrected) > level normalization (soundforge 5- see above) >tracking (cdwave) > boundaries confirmed (shntool) > SHN (shorten 3.4) > FTP via C.Ladner/candyman FTP.

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Amherst, MA (04/06/13)

Bob Dylan
Mullins Center
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, Massachusetts


Download: FLAC/MP3

source : AT853RX > Deneke PS2 > R9
xfer: R4 > audacity > CDWave > flac
taped/transferred/seeded by: CTDave (Dave Malloy)

recorded from the 3rd row stage left, seat 16 – aisle seat
running time : 98:56 minutes

01. Things Have Changed (Bob center stage, Donnie on pedal steel)
02. Love Sick (Bob center stage with harp, Donnie on electric mandolin)
03. High Water (For Charley Patton) (Bob center stage, Donnie on banjo, Tony on standup bass)
04. Soon After Midnight (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on pedal steel)
05. Early Roman Kings (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on lap steel, Tony on standup bass)
06. Tangled Up In Blue (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on pedal steel)
07. Pay In Blood (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on pedal steel)
08. Visions Of Johanna (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on electric mandolin)
09. Spirit On The Water (Bob on grand piano and harp, Donnie on pedal steel, Tony on standup bass)
10. Beyond Here Lies Nothin'(Bob center stage with harp, Donnie on electric mandolin)
11. Blind Willie McTell (Bob center stage with harp, Donnie on banjo, Tony on standup bass)
12. What Good Am I? (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on pedal steel)
13. Thunder On The Mountain (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on lap steel, Tony on standup bass)
14. Scarlet Town (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on banjo, Tony on standup bass)
15. All Along The Watchtower (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on lap steel)
16. Ballad Of A Thin Man (Bob on grand piano, Donnie on lap steel)

Band Members
Bob Dylan – piano, harp
Tony Garnier – bass
George Recile – drums
Stu Kimball – acoustic rhythm guitar (all songs)
Duke Robillard – electirc lead guitar (all songs)
Donnie Herron – banjo, electric mandolin, pedal steel, lap steel

recorded on the aisle seat, stage left 3rd row about 10 feet away from security, but also the left stage speaker stack. Security were in my face the entire show even going up and down the aisle a couple of times.They were also quite the chatty bunch, and most of the talk that does get picked up here and there is them. Overall great sound in the Mullins Center, loved the new arrangments, and Bob was having a ball.I’ve been a big fan of Duke Robillard for years now growing up in Rhode Island where he played all the time. These first shows may stil be rehersals so to speak for Duke as he finds his place, tonight he could surely have taken his solo’s higher,but overall I enjoyed the change in the band.

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Doc Watson – Amherst, MA (04/01/84)


Doc Watson
Amherst, Massachusetts
Amherst High School

Download: FLAC/MP3

Set One:
01. New River Train
02. Shady Grove
03. Mikcow Blues
04. Bill Cheatham -> Salt Creek
05. Rovin’ On A Winter’s Night
06. Otto Wood
07. Windy & Warm
08. Ramblin’ Man
09. Roll On Buddy
10. Soldier’s Joy
Set Two:
11. Rollin’ In My Sweet Baby’s Arms
12. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor
13. East Tennessee Rag
14. Deep River Blues
15. Summertime
16. Sauerkraut and Solar Energy
17. The Last Thing On My Mind
18. Smoke That Cigarette
19. Tennessee Stud
20. Peach Pickin’ Time In Georgia
21. Mama Don’t Want No Playin’ Goin’ On Round Here
22. Lost John

Total Time ::: 1:36:24

Recording Information ::: SBD -> unknown stereo equipment -> master tape -> probably 1 generation -> 2nd(?) generation Maxell XLII-90 cassette, Dolby B on
Playback 2011-12-08 ::: 2nd(?) generation Maxell XLII-90 cassette on Nakamichi BX-300 cassette deck, Dolby B on, azimuth & pitch adjusted, heads cleaned & demagnatized -> Tascam CD-RW900SL pro CD recorder -> CD-RW -> computer, EAC secure -> wavs -> Audacity (fades &/or glitches, volume adjustments, no EQ) -> CD Wave (track splits) -> Trader’s Little Helper -> yer ears.

Doc Watson – guitar, harmonica, vocals
T. Michael Coleman – bass, harmony vocals
Samuel Charles Bush – fiddle, mandolin, vocals