Bob Dylan – Mansfield, MA (07/09/86)

Bob Dylan
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Great Woods Performing Arts Center
9 July 1986

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

01 – Unchain My Heart (James Freddy/Agnes Jones)
02 – Positively 4th Street
03 – Clean Cut Kid
04 – I’ll Remember You
05 – Shot Of Love
06 – We Had It All (Donny Fritts-Troy Seals)
07 – Masters Of War

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers:

  • Straight Into Darkness (Tom Petty)
  • Think About Me (Tom Petty)
  • The Waiting (Tom Petty)
  • Breakdown (Tom Petty)

08 – The Times They Are A-Changin’
09 – One Too Many Mornings
10 – It Ain’t Me, Babe

11 – I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know (Cecil A. Null)
12 – Band Of The Hand
13 – When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
14 – Lonesome Town (Baker Knight)
15 – Ballad Of A Thin Man

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers:

  • So You Want To Be A Rock & Roll Star (R. McGuinn/C. Hillman)
  • Spike (Tom Petty)
  • Don’t Do Me Like That (Tom Petty)
  • Refugee (Tom Petty & Mike Campbell)

16 – Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
17 – Seeing The Real You At Last
18 – Across The Borderline (Ry Cooder/John Hiatt/Jim Dickinson)
19 – I And I
20 – Like A Rolling Stone
21 – In The Garden

22 – Blowin’ In The Wind
23 – Shake A Hand (Joe Morris)
24 – Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

Concert #23 of the 1986 True Confessions US Tour.
Concert #42 with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. 1986 concert #42.
Bob Dylan with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers.
Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
Tom Petty (guitar),
Mike Campbell (guitar),
Benmont Tench (keyboards),
Howie Epstein (bass),
Stan Lynch (drums)
The Queens Of Rhythm:
Carolyn Dennis,
Queen Esther Marrow,
Madelyn Quebec,
Louise Bethune (backing vocals).

8-10 Bob Dylan solo (vocal & guitar).
9, 10, 24 Bob Dylan (harmonica).
11, 22, 24 Bob Dylan and Tom Petty (shared vocals).
16 Howie Epstein (slide guitar), Tom Petty (bass).


  • Maybe next time. Anyway Iím playing all the songs in the same
    key tonight, haven’t done that in a while. (before It Ain’t Me, Babe)
  • All right Tom and I are gonna sing an old song for you now.
    Anyway they don’t write songs like this anymore either.
    This is about a, this is about the kind of person who thinks they know it all.
    (before I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know)
  • All right now. Ricky Nelson he did a lot of my songs, and I’m gonna do one
    of his. It’s called Lonesome Town.
  • All right here are Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers now. Here are their names.
    On the keyboards, Benmont Tench. Guitar, Michael Campbell.
    On the drums, Stan Lynch. On bass guitar, give him a hand, Howie Epstein.
    Of course I got to especially thank Mr. Tom Petty himself. Yeah.
    Anybody would sound good with this band. Even you. Anyway I also have my
    own Heartbreakers over there. Somewhere. That’s Queen Esther Marrow and
    Carolyn Dennis. And Madelyn Quebec and Louise Bethune.
    (before Like A Rolling Stone)

2 new songs (8%) compared to previous concert. No new songs for this tour.

Stereo audience recording, 165 minutes.

LB-00522 xref-01316 ; 46min +40min +45min +36min ; 4CDR ; Rating: B

7/9/86 Great Woods Performing Arts Center, Mansfield, Massachusetts
from the cb master audience

very good sound; this recording is harsh

(a bittorrent from 12/13 is a close eac match on d1t2 with same digital
flaws plus another set of discontinuities between tracks; described with a
generic info file with filenames like “bd86-07-09d1tr01.flac”; xref-01316)

drop/cut between cdrs, discontinuities between tracks

One thought on “Bob Dylan – Mansfield, MA (07/09/86)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s