Furthur Festival – Veneta, OR (07/28/96)

The Furthur Festival
Oregon County Fairground – Veneta, OR

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

Los Lobos

Master: Sbd > DAT > CDR
Transfer: CDR (Teac CD-224E) > EAC (v.0.9b3)(“Copy Range” mode to recombine tracks) > Sound Forge (v. 6.0)(fading) > CDWAV (v.1.71) > WAV > mkwACT (v.0.97b1) > SHN
Lossless transcoding: SHN > shntool conv > FLAC
FLAC tags via EasyTAG 2.1

Transfered by Dan Gale (dgale@loslobos.org)

Total time 46:57
253 MB

  1. (Introduction) 0:28
  2. Georgia Slop 2:38
  3. Angel Dance 4:08
  4. I Walk Alone 2:53
  5. Evangeline * 3:03
  6. Revolution 6:15
  7. Maricela 3:58
  8. I Got Loaded 4:20
  9. Anselma 3:15
  10. I’m Gonna Be a Wheel Someday 3:15
  11. Mas y Mas * 5:14
  12. Bertha * 7:23
  • with Pete Sears on keyboards

Note: This recording came to me as “Sbd>DAT>CDR” – I don’t know any more specifics on the lineage.

Bruce Hornsby

  1. Intro by Ivan Karamazov
  2. Terrapin Jam >
  3. What A Time >
  4. A Night on the Town
  5. Carry the Water
  6. When In Rome >
  7. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
  8. Spider Fingers
  9. Samson & Delilah *
  10. Another Day > Quinn The Eskimo
  11. The World Is a Beautiful Place #
  12. Kesey Introduces Hot Tuna…..


  • with Bob Weir
  • Poem by Lawrence Ferlinghetti spoken by Ivan Karamazov

Source: SBD > Sony D-7 DAT Master (48kHz)
Transfer: DAT Master > Sony M-1 > spidif 7 pin cable > Tascam HD-P2
Soundforge 8 (volume adjustments, fades) > WaveLab 5 (resample) > CD WAVE > FLAC
board signal was overloaded in a few spots
transfer completed on February 2, 2012
recorded and transferred by Dean Grabski (taperdean@gmail.com)

Ratdog & Finale Jam

  1. Walkin Blues
  2. Wang Dang Doodle
  3. Eternity
  4. Blackbird
  5. K.C. Moan
  6. I Know You Rider
  7. It’s All Over Now
  8. The Winners
  9. Victim or the Crime >
  10. Bass Solo >
  11. Turn On Your Lovelight
  12. Johnny B. Goode *
  13. Whining Boy Blues *
  14. Bright Lights Big City *
  15. White Rabbit *
  16. America The Beautiful ** >
  17. Gloria ***
  • w/Jorma Kaukonen
    ** w/Ken Kesey, Jorma Kaukonen, assorted Pranksters, unknown others
    *** w/Ken Kesey, Jorma Kaukonen, Bruce Hornsby, assorted Pranksters, unknown others

Source: AKG CK61/C460 > Tascam DA-P1 > Digipatch > Sony D-7 DAT Master (48kHz)
Transfer: DAT Master > Sony M-1 > spidif 7 pin cable > Tascam HD-P2
Soundforge 8 (volume adjustments, fades, minor editing) > WaveLab 5 (resample) > CD WAVE > FLAC
If burning to disc Track 1-11 CD1 / Track 12-17 CD2
transfer completed on February 12, 2012
transferred and patch recorded by Dean Grabski (taperdean@gmail.com)

Hot Tuna (Set not included per band’s request)

Walkin’ Blues, Death Donít Have No Mercy, 99 Year Blues, Embryonic Journey, Hit Single #1, Ode For Billy Dean, Letís Work Together, Baby What You Want Me To Do

Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning, Hesitation Blues, I Know You Rider, Candy Man, Let Us Get Together Right Down Here, San Francisco Bay Blues

Mickey Hart’s Mystery Box (No Source Currently Exists)
Missing setlist

John Wesley Harding (No Source Currently Exists)
Missing setlist

Alvin Youngblood Hart (No Source Currently Exists)
Missing setlist


  • Other sources for this day exist for some of the sets.
  • Each source has been previously individually circulated.
  • I have yet to locate the Mickey Hart’s Mystery Box, the Electric & Acoustic Hot Tuna, John Wesley Harding or Alvin Youngblood Hart sets.
  • The well is running dry on locating any new or additional Furthur Festival sets. If you have any kicking around out there on DAT, Cassette or CD let me know at thefurthurproject@gmail.com. I’m happy to do any transfers. There are still many missing sets.

This show is part of The Furthur Project –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s