Miles Davis – New York, NY (02/18/50)

Miles Davis
February 18, 1950 (21:56)
WNYC Studio, New York
WNYC radio broadcast
Miles Davis Sextet

Download SHN/FLAC: Amazon Drive

I have two sources for this show, you can read the info here.

  1. Conception (G. Shearing) 4:07
  2. Ray’s Idea (R. Brown-W.G. Fuller) 5:54
  3. That Old Black Magic (J. Mercer-H. Arlen) 2:16
  4. Max is Making Wax (O. Pettiford) 3:59
  5. Woody ‘n’ You (D. Gillespie) 5:40

Miles Davis (tpt); J.J. Johnson (tb); Stan Getz (ts); Tadd Dameron
(p); Gene Ramey (b); Art Blakey (d)

Miles Davis – New York, NY (06/30/50)

Birdland All-Stars
New York, New York

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

Project ID – 84

Source: Audience Recording

Lineage: Audience Recording > ?? > cd (Peter Losin’s Archive) >
cd duplicated (burner to burner) > eac > wave > flac (lvl 8 )

Miles Davis (tpt); Theodore “Fats” Navarro (tpt); J.J. Johnson (tb);
Charlie Parker (as); Milton “Brew” Moore (ts); Tadd Dameron (p);
Walter Bishop, Jr. (p); Dillon “Curly” Russell (b); Art Blakey (d);
Roy Haynes (d); Chubby Newsome (voc); Pee Wee Marquette (ann)

disc 1

d1t01. Band warming up
d1t02. Wee
d1t03. Ow/
d1t04. Band warming up
d1t05. September in the Rain
d1t06. Embraceable You
d1t07. Introduction
d1t08. Chubby’s Blues
d1t09. For You My Love

disc 2

d2t01. Band warming up
d2t02. Max is Making Wax
d2t03. /Hot House
d2t04. 52nd Street Theme
d2t05. Conception/Deception
d2t06. Eronel
d2t07. 52nd Street Theme/


  • d1t03 is cut at the beginning of the track
  • d2t04 is a short teaser of 52nd street theme
  • d2t07 is cut at he end of the track.
  • The quality is what you would expect from an audience recording from 1950. It is plauged
    with static and distortion is definetly present, especially up to d1t03. It
    improves on/after d1t03.There is another step up in quality on/after d1t06. The sound
    on/after d1t06 is very pleasing.
  • “Parker plays only on the closing chorus of “Conception.”- Credit to Peter Losin,
  • “There is a lot of uncertainty about the dating of this music. The Miles Davis-Stan
    Getz Sextet was booked at Birdland for a week in February (Feb 9-16), and some
    broadcast recordings have been issued.” – Credit to Peter Losin,
  • “Davis’s own sextet, with Brew Moore replacing Getz and occasionally joined by
    vocalist “Little” Jimmy Scott, remained at Birdland (opposite Ella Fitzgerald and the
    Bud Powell Trio) through July 6th.” – Credit to Peter Losin,
  • “In the notes to the JMY CD, Enrico Merlin argues that these tunes are all from a
    single night, June 30. Ken Vail (Miles’ Diary) claims that broadcast recordings were
    made over several nights during this period:
    • May 17 (Wed): Max is Making Wax; Chubby’s Blues; Conception/Deception
    • May 18 (Thu): Hot House; 52nd Street Theme (Davis was in Columbia’s 30th Street
      Studios with Sarah Vaughan and the Jimmy Jones Octet for sessions on May 18 and 19.)
    • May 20 (Sat): ‘Round Midnight; Embraceable You; Wee
    • May 21 (Sun): Ow; For Now My Love [sic]; September in the Rain; Eronel; 52nd
      Street Theme
    • May 29 (Mon): 52nd Street Theme
    • May 30 (Tue): Wee; Chubby’s Blues
    • June 30 (Fri): Hot House; Embraceable You; Eronel; 52nd Street Theme
      (Walter Bishop, Jr. replaces Tadd Dameron)

Vail’s source is probably Boris Rose’s “log,” which lists many of these tunes with the
titles under which they were first issued — “Poobah,” “Moo,” “Mile’s Midnight Breakaway,”” “Overturia,” “Rambunctious Rambling,” etc.

  • Credit to Peter Losin,
  • “A second trumpet is audible on several tunes — “Hot House,” “Conception/Deception,”
    “Eronel,” and the long “52nd Street Theme” — and this is usually identified as Fats
    Navarro, who died of tuberculosis on July 7. He’s in sad shape here, and seems especially
    lost on “Conception/Deception.”” – Credit to Peter Losin,
  • “”In favor of the June 30 date, however unlikely it may seem given Navarro’s death on
    July 7, Dan Morgenstern writes in the Columbia liner notes that “Ira Gitler, who saw
    Fats at Birdland in 1950, recalls him as a shrunken, pitiful figure, racked by coughing
    and playing feebly. But available clues have been checked and rechecked, and June 30 is
    the date that comes up.” On the other hand, writing about some other recordings of Navarro,
    Gitler remarked, “I question the May 1950 dating of records made of his broadcasts from
    CafÈ Society… His playing seems… too alive for the man who would be dead of
    tuberculosis on July 7″ (Jazz Masters of the Forties, p. 101.” – Credit to Peter Losin,
  • QC done by Bgreen

Charlie Parker – Bird 53 Plus 50

Charlie Parker
July 26, 1953 (20 items; TT = 66:50)
Open Door, New York NY
Private recording (Tape)
Jam session

Download FLAC: Amazon Drive

Charlie Parker (as); Benny Harris (tpt); Al Haig (p); Charles Mingus (b); Art Taylor (d)

First set
1 Out of Nowhere (E. Heyman-J.W. Green) (incomplete) 3:02
2 Star Eyes (D. Raye-G. DePaul-P. Johnston) (incomplete) 3:53
3 Cool Blues (C. Parker) (incomplete) 4:41
4 East of the Sun (And West of the Moon) (B. Bowman) (incomplete) 3:24
5 The Song is You (J. Kern-O. Hammerstein) (incomplete) 6:07
6 52nd Street Theme (T. Monk) (incomplete) 2:33

Second set
7 Ornithology (C. Parker-B. Harris) (incomplete) 3:18
8 Scrapple from the Apple (C. Parker) 3:30
9 My Old Flame (A. Johnston-S. Coslow) 4:13
10 My Little Suede Shoes (C. Parker) (incomplete) 2:11

Third set
11 I Remember You (J. Mercer-V. Schertzinger) (incomplete) 3:01
12 All the Things You Are (J. Kern-O. Hammerstein) [Bird of Paradise] 4:12
13 Just You, Just Me (R. Klages-J. Greer) (incomplete) 2:00
14 I’ll Remember April (D. Raye-G. DePaul-P. Johnston) (incomplete) 4:15
15 Hot House (T. Dameron) (incomplete) 3:16
16 52nd Street Theme (T. Monk) (incomplete) 2:58

Fourth set
17 I Cover the Waterfront (E. Heyman-J.W. Green) (incomplete) 2:26
18 This Time the Dream’s on Me (H. Arlen-J. Mercer) 4:14
19 I’ll Remember April (D. Raye-G. DePaul-P. Johnston) (incomplete) 2:37
20 52nd Street Theme (T. Monk) (incomplete) 0:34

The tape, made by Chan Parker, is edited to some themes and Parker solos only. There are no Bud Powell solos, although Parker can be heard announcing him.

October 23, 1950 (15 items; TT = 48:11)
Pershing Hotel Ballroom, Chicago IL
Private recording (Tape)
Charlie Parker Quintet

Charlie Parker (as); Unknown (tb); Earl Lavon “Von” Freeman (ts); George Freeman (g); Chris Anderson (p); Leroy Jackson (b); Bruz Freeman (d); Unknown (voc)

First set
1 Indiana (J.F. Hanley-B. McDonald) 5:51
2 I Can’t Get Started (V. Duke-I. Gershwin) 2:47
3 Anthropology (D. Gillespie-C. Parker) 5:18
4 Out of Nowhere (E. Heyman-J.W. Green) 2:46
5 Get Happy (H. Arlen-T. Koehler) 5:34

Second set
6 Hot House (T. Dameron) 5:00
7 Embraceable You (G. Gershwin-I. Gershwin) 2:00
8 Body and Soul (J.W. Green-E. Heyman-R. Sour-F. Eyton) 2:15
9 Cool Blues (C. Parker) 3:14
10 Stardust (H. Carmichael-M. Parish) (incomplete) 0:56
11 All the Things You Are (J. Kern-O. Hammerstein) [Bird of Paradise] 3:07
12 Billie’s Bounce (C. Parker) 3:08
13 Pennies from Heaven (J. Burke-A. Johnston) (incomplete) 3:18
14 Pennies from Heaven (J. Burke-A. Johnston) (incomplete) 2:57

From a tape made by Donald Coy. Edited to Parker solos and exchanges. The tape was recorded off a dressing room speaker, and parts of some items (“Embraceable You” through “All the Things You Are”) are marred by conversation. It’s unlikely that the titles from this session and the next one are all from the same date, but they’re probably from the same gig.