Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Chicago, IL (01/04/74)

Bob Dylan
Chicago, Illinois
Chicago Stadium
4 January 1974

Download: FLAC/MP3

01 – Hero Blues
02 – Lay Lady Lay
03 – Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
04 – It Ain’t Me, Babe
05 – Tough Mama
06 – Ballad Of A Thin Man

The Band
07 – Stage Fright (Robbie Robertson)
08 – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Robbie Robertson)
09 – King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (Robbie Robertson)
10 – Long Black Veil (Danny Dill – Marijohn Wilkin)
11 – I shall Be released
12 – Up On Cripple Creek (Robbie Robertson)

13 – All Along The Watchtower
14 – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
15 – Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

16 – The Times They Are A-Changin’
17 – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
18 – The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
19 – Nobody ‘Cept You
20 – It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)

The Band
21 – Rag Mama Rag (Robbie Robertson)
22 – When You Awake (Richard Manuel – Robbie Robertson)
23 – The Shape I’m In (Robbie Robertson)
24 – The Weight (Robbie Robertson)

25 – Forever Young
26 – Something There Is About You
27 – Like A Rolling Stone
28 – Maggie’s Farm

Second concert of the 1974 Tour of America with The Band.

1-6, 13-15 25-28 Bob Dylan (vocal, guitar, harmonica),
Robbie Robertson (guitar),
Garth Hudson (synthesizer),
Richard Manual (keyboards),
Rick Danko (bass),
Levon Helm (drums).

16-20 Bob Dylan (vocal, guitar, harmonica).

– Last live performance of Hero Blues.
– Live debut of Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door.

4 new songs (22%) compared to previous concert. 4 new songs for this tour.

Stereo audience recording.

LB-02636 ; 56min+60min ; 2CDR ; Rating: B+

1/4/74 Chicago Stadium, Chicago, Illinois

from lk aud set; The stereo master contained many, many RH channel ‘drop outs’.
These have been repaired by using the LH channel and adding some ‘ambiance’ – so the mono snippit is less abrupt.
CD > EAC > CoolEdit 2000 > channel repairs > Flac.;

abrupt start on d1t1, background talking d2t2, d2t3, d2t5; has tv band; very good to excellent sound [B+] has a few spots of background scratchiness static like on d2t3 or d2t5 2:16, d2t11 1:3x, 2:0x; drops between many tracks and has some discontinuities

5 thoughts on “Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – Chicago, IL (01/04/74)

  1. Thought I had this one, the archive says different. I’ve had the first show from the 3rd on tape for donkey’s years. they are obviously not the very best of the tour in terms of sound qual, but they are plenty good enuff, and essential in every other regard!

    Thanks again

  2. Rare performances of Nobody Cept You (Planet Waves outtake) and Tough Mama (Planet Waves) which were only performed 7 resp. 3 times ever, all in January 1974.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s