Repost Bonanza: R.E.M. – Murmur Rough Mixes and Demos

Murmur: Rough Mixes and Demos

Download: FLAC/MP3

Lineage: ANA(x)>DAT(x)>WAV [48kHz/16bit]>WAV [44.1kHz/16bit]>Flac
Transfer: Tascam DA-20 MKII>PreSonus FireStudio Project>Adobe Audition 3.0
Transferred By: Mike Ziegler
Dat tape courtesy of JEMS archives

01. Catapult (Stephen Hague Vers. 1)
02. Pilgrimage (Mitch Easter Vers. 1)

1983-02-16 (rough mixes w/Mitch Easter)
03. Pilgrimage (vers. 2)
04. Catapult
05. Perfect Circle
06. 9-9
07. West Of The Fields

Live In Studio
08. Band Talking
09. That Beat
10. Pretty Persuasion – omitted due to being officially released
11. All The Right Friends
12. Tighten Up – omitted due to being officially released
13. There She Goes Again
14. Moon River – omitted due to being officially released

Murmur basic & rough mixes
15. Talk About The Passion
16. West Of The Fields
17. Moral Kiosk
18. Sitting Still
19. Ages Of You
20. Perfect Circle
21. We Walk
22. 9-9
23. Shaking Through
24. Romance
25. Laughing (cuts out)

Various studio outtakes and demos recorded in conjunction with the Murmur album. Dates when given and info taken verbatim from the dat case j-card. This stuff should all be previously circulated but may or may not be an upgrade in sound quality to existing circulating copies. Officially released material has been omitted from this shared fileset. The tracks omitted to the best of our knowledge are bonus tracks on a reissue of the album Reckoning. This should also run at close to if not the correct speed. The tape source was all over the place as far speed goes. Each track had to be done individually.

Repost Bonanza: REM – London, England (09/15/04)


St. James Church, Piccadilly
London, England
September 15th 2004

Download: FLAC/MP3

Setlist: (running time ca. 55 Min.)
01. So Fast, So Numb
02. Boy In The Well
03. I Wanted To Be Wrong
04. E-BowThe Letter
05. Around The Sun
06. Aftermath
07. Losing My Religion
08. Walk Unafraid
09. Leaving New York
10. Imitation Of Life
11. Man On The Moon

Michael Stipe – vocals
Peter Buck – guitars
Mike Mills – bass, keyboards
Scott McCaughey – guitars, keyboards
Ken Stringfellow – guitars, keyboards
Bill Riefin – drums

From the original uploader
This was broadcast by NDR2 (german broadcast station) a few weeks ago and i got it thru analog satellite radio broadcast. The original recording is from the BBC.

On PC-side i used Magix cleaning lab 2003 to record this. I connected the pc on the output from the tape-recorder. On the Input-side was my hifi-receiver which was connected to the sat-receiver.

Lineage: analog satellite radio broadcast –> Magix Cleaning Lab2003 –> waves –> FLACs (SBE Level8) –> you

I tried to do some remastering on it (maybe, i made ten different versions about this; with burning on CDR-RW),but at least i decided to do nothing with this recording.Everything i did, it wasn’t better then the original broadcast.
So, here it is!!

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: R.E.M. – Cassette Tape Demos

rem - Cassette-Set---Tape-Front

Cassette Set
April 15/16/23, 1981 (recording/mixing)
April/May 1981 (assemblage/packaging)

Download: FLAC/MP3

01 Sitting Still (fast “Polka” version, snippet)
02 Sitting Still
03 Radio Free Europe
04 White Tornado
05 White Tornado (take 2, aborted)
06 Radio Free Europe (Radio Dub)